Hello

If you're new to the forum and want to introduce yourself, this is the place.
albatross

Tue Dec 20, 2011 1:29 pm

Hello, I'm albatross, although in reality I'm a human man with an interest in poetry. I've been writing for a couple of years, and am looking to post a few of my own poems and comment on other people's work. From what I've read, there are some strong, knowledgeable writers posting here, so I hope to contribute to that and receive constructive feedback.

I've posted a few comments already, but I see I should have introduced myself first...

My Manners

The older I get, the more I forget
my manners. Forgive me. Maybe
I should keep them in a drawer?
Or in the money-pot where I also
keep my keys. That way, next time
I see you, I won't have to fake
an interest in pavement cracks
or shop windows on the other
side of the street. That way,
I might say 'hello'.
Ros
antispam: no

Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:34 pm

Hi albatross,

Welcome to PG. Thanks for the comments - we do have some excellent people here. Do you have a name, or shall we stick to calling you albatross?

Ros
Rosencrantz: What are you playing at? Guildenstern: Words. Words. They're all we have to go on.

Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:52 pm

Thanks, Ros.

And if it's alright, I'd rather stick to being called by the username for the forum. Thanks again.
David

Wed Dec 21, 2011 7:44 pm

Hello to you. You're already making yourself known about the place, so welcome.

As for albatross, my guess is that you're a Scot called T. Ross. That's pure speculation, of course.

Cheers

David
albatross

Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:26 pm

Thanks for the welcome, David. But no, I'm not Scottish, I'm an Englander; the name was taken from that oft-translated poem of Baudelaire's... skliff, sclaff as Robin Robertson has it...
Ros

Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:48 pm

Not Coleridge then? I'm disappointed!

Ros
Rosencrantz: What are you playing at? Guildenstern: Words. Words. They're all we have to go on.
Perspicacious Poster